Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Six months of EU and EEA cooperation on cross-border testing


Six months ago, 29 European countries, Members of the European Union and of the European Economic Area, have signed a Letter of Intent to intensify cooperation on testing of automated road transport in cross border test sites. Following the signature, the countries have begun to work together on cross-border sections, itineraries or corridors to conduct and facilitate research, tests and large scale demonstrations. The European test corridors announced last week at the Frankfurt Motorshow are a first direct outcome of this initiative. There is also emerging support for the availability of the necessary radio spectrum resources for cooperative, connected and automated mobility. The Commission expects cross border trials to follow from the cooperation to introduce the fifth generation of wireless communication systems early in the process.

The following countries signed the letter of intent on 23 March 2017: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland.


Back to list

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.